Looking For Anything Specific?


Rivers State Deputy Governor Dr. Mrs. Ipalibo Harry Banigo has charged members of   the Tai Local Government Area Boundary Committee to deal with inter Community Boundary Disputes within the Local Government Area.

Dr. Banigo gave this charge today Tuesday, 30th July 2019, while inaugurating nine members of the Tai Local Government Area Boundary Committee at the Council Secretariat in Saakpenwa.

The Deputy Governor who was represented by the Secretary of the State Boundary Commission Mr. Lucky Atangsi, said the National Boundary Commission Act of 2006, empowers the State Boundary Commission to establish a Local Government Boundary Committee, for the purpose of partnership and to further address issues of Boundary Disputes in our communities.

According to her “What we are doing here is backed by law, it is not just a wishful programme, it is a very serious business, and so we expect that having inaugurated this Local Government Boundary Committee today, they will have a lot of work to do” the Deputy Governor stressed.     

The Deputy Governor who charged members of the committee to deal dispassionately with issues brought before it, warned against encouraging litigation, but to always rely on the instrument of proof, integrity and intelligence in the discharge of their duties.   

Responding on behalf of the Members of Tai Local Government Boundary Committee Koogbon Ngbaragbor, thanked the State Boundary Commission for their timely intervention in inaugurating the Tai Local Government Boundary Committee and expressed their commitment and wiliness to serve.

Functions of the Boundary Committee includes the carrying out of awareness and enlightenment campaigns with a view of fostering peaceful relationship with neighbouring communities, liaising with and keeping the State Boundary Commission informed of all Boundary problems within the Local Government Area, to encourage negotiated settlement of Boundary Disputes in preference to litigation amongst others.      

The Tai Local Government Boundary Committee has the Vice Chairmen of Council Hon. Hannah Ann Piawa as Chairman other members are:
Hon. Sylvester Ngbar                                          -        Member
Hon. Koogbon Ngbaragbor                                -        Member
Chief Emmanuel Nyiedam                                 -        Member
Engr. Karikpo Sonle F.                                        -        Member
CSP Omale Gabriel (DPO Tai)                            -        Member
Harcourt Nnosike Okirida (DPO Koroma)        -        Member
Collins Amadi (SSS)                                            -        Member
Mrs. Princess Nwosu (Immigration Officer)    -        member    

Post a Comment